New Groups function on Facebook
- Open: members and content is public
- Closed: members public and content is private
- Secret: members and content are private
- Facebook notification: when you perform activity in the Group and someone replies or interacts with that activity, you will receive a notification via the traditional Facebook notifications tab on your main Facebook page
The group chat allows you to chat with members in the Group that are currently online. At this stage note that all conversations held in Group chat are available for all members to see.
Therefore, Group chat should be relegated to casual conversation, with more specific interaction taken to individual chat or email.
I'd recommend that after a wall post develops much interaction with value added content, that perhaps it then is copied and pasted in to a Document so it can be better referenced over time.
The docs function allows members of the Group to create standing, editable documents. This function has a very easy to use interface. Docs are also available and can be accessed on the right hand side of the Group page.
Once you are at the Group page the web address can be copied and emailed, tweeted, etc.. to anyone and they can click that link and request an invite to be added to the Group (the user has to have a Facebook account). The administrator will have to approve.
All members of a Group can invite other members. Therefore, you really should have a clear understanding of the purpose of your Group and who you want to invite. That fact alone means you should have a handle on your trust, dependability, and willingness to collaborate with potential Group members before they are invited. To repeat, all members of a Group can invite new members. You do not have to be an administrator to invite new users. Pick your members wisely.
Leaving the Group
You may find that you have randomly been added to a Group. You can easily opt out of the Group by choosing "Leave Group" on the right hand side of the Group page. However, once you leave you have to be reinvited to be added to the Group.